The Community Social Work Team provides support to students of all ages, groups, backgrounds, and income levels in becoming connected to each other, the campus community, and resources both on and off campus. Connecting to your campus community plays an important role to your overall well-being. 

Our team facilitates many presentations, training sessions, and community events to bring students together, build community, decrease loneliness and build capacity that will assist during your time on campus and beyond. 

You are not alone here at the University of Alberta. Our team is approachable, knowledgeable and can be a great first place to start with many of your questions and concerns — email cswteam@ualberta.ca

Community Helpers Program

We will be offering Community Helpers training for students and staff this upcoming academic year. Funded by Alberta Health Services, the Community Helpers program seeks to identify leaders within the campus community and provide them with some basic tools needed to help others in distress.

Participation within the student training program will be recognized on the co-curricular record, and provide access to other training and leadership opportunities. Find out more!

'How to Help' Guide

We have developed the 'How to Help' guide for the University of Alberta community. This guide is useful for those providing support to individuals on campus and even to those of us who want to improve our helping skills as we support our peers.

View the 'How to Help' guide (PDF)

Need to contact us?

If you are experiencing a challenging situation or are supporting a student through a difficult time, please contact our office for assistance or consultation.

Call: 780-492-3342
Email: cswteam@ualberta.ca

The Compass Centre for Sexual Wellness

Compass Centre for Sexual Wellness is a charitable organization that provides sexual health education and counselling services in Edmonton and surrounding communities.

See more community supports and resources

The University of Alberta acknowledges that we are located on Treaty 6 territory, and respects the histories, languages, and cultures of First Nations, Métis, Inuit and all First Peoples of Canada, whose presence continues to enrich our vibrant community.